Tools/NRI: Indians in the US/Supporting Parents in India Calculator✓ CHECKED AGAINST WORKED EXAMPLES · OCT 2, 2026

How much can I send my parents and still stay on track?

Supporting parents is a choice many make. See how much you can send home each month while still meeting your own savings goal, what it adds up to by retirement, and which gift forms apply.

Edit on my map
Your savings goal
Saves a fixed share of take-home pay each month.
US filing status
YOU CAN SEND EACH MONTHFITS YOUR GOAL
₹2,25,900a month
At these inputs you can send up to ₹2,25,900 ($2,358) a month and still save 20% of your $9,198 monthly take-home. You send ₹50,000 ($522) now, which leaves ₹1,75,900 of room. In today's dollars, ₹50,000 a month from now to 60 adds up to $277,807 at 60 if it were invested instead.
In dollars
$2,358/mo
Sending now
₹50,000
Savings rate
46% → 40%
Cost at 60
$278k
UNDERSTAND YOUR RESULT
LIBRARY CHAPTERSending Money Across the BorderHow money moves between the US and India, which account to use, what a transfer really costs, the difference between the NRO limit, the Liberalised Remittance Scheme and tax collected at source, and when a gift needs a form.LIBRARY CHAPTERSupporting ParentsWhy parents in India are not US dependents, the gift rules for what you send, paying medical bills directly, India's exemption for money from a child, and what regular support costs your own savings.
Terms:Gift tax return (Form 709)Medical bills paid directly (gift tax exclusion)Gift from a relative (Indian income tax)Liberalised Remittance Scheme (LRS)TCS (tax collected at source, India)

Your savings rate with and without the support

Without support$4,198/mo
46%
Sending ₹50,000$3,676/mo
40%
Your goal$1,840/mo
20%

Of your $9,198 monthly take-home you would save 46% with no support and 40% while sending ₹50,000; your goal is 20% ($1,840 a month).

What the support does to your savings by 60

Without supportWith support
$3.60M$1.80M$0405060FIRE numberWithout supportWith support

Saving everything you do not spend or send, you would have $3,365,619 at 60 without the support and $3,087,812 with it, in today's dollars: ₹50,000 a month grows to $277,807, and financial independence moves from age 46.8 to 47.8.

Both of you: how long a fund for your parents lasts

If it earns nothing after inflationAt 3.9% after inflation
5 years of support needs$31,312$28,556
10 years of support needs$62,624$52,158
15 years of support needs$93,936$71,666
20 years of support needs$125,248$87,791

Paying ₹50,000 ($522) a month for ten years takes a fund of $62,624 if it only keeps up with inflation, or $52,158 at 3.9% after inflation. Prices in India have often risen faster than US prices, so the first column is the cautious one.

Do I have to file anything for money I send or receive?

SituationYour numbers (2026)What applies
You give it all to one parent (US)$6,262 countedUnder the $19,000 a person exclusion: nothing to file.
You split it between both parents (US)$3,131 eachUnder $19,000 each: nothing to file.
A medical bill you pay straight to the providerNone enteredNot counted toward the exclusion and not reported (26 U.S.C. §2503(e)). Money given to a parent to pay the bill does count.
Your parents receive it in India₹6,00,000 this yearNot taxed as a gift: money from a relative is outside §92(2)(m), which otherwise taxes gifts above ₹50,000 a year (§92(3)(a); formerly §56(2)(x)). As published in the Income-tax Act, 2025 (Gazette of India, 21 August 2025, in force from 1 April 2026); check with a Chartered Accountant.
You receive gifts from family abroad (US)Reported above $100,000Gifts from a nonresident alien individual totalling more than $100,000 in a year go on Form 3520, Part IV. It is a report, not a tax.

You would give $6,262 this year, under the $19,000 a person annual exclusion for 2026, so there is no US gift tax return to file for it.

What moves the needle

Each row re-runs the calculation with one change. Click to apply.

How it's computed

FORMULA
Room for support = take-home − US spending − savings goal (a month); in rupees = room × ₹ per $
Savings goal = goal % × take-home, or the monthly saving that grows today’s investments to (12 × spending) ÷ 4% by your retirement age
Cost at retirement = monthly support in $ × ((1 + r)^n − 1) ÷ r, with r the monthly return after inflation and n the months to retirement
Years a fund lasts = −ln(1 − fund × r ÷ (support × (1 + r))) ÷ ln(1 + r) ÷ 12 (fund ÷ yearly support when r = 0)
  • Take-home is estimated from 2026 federal brackets and the single standard deduction (IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32) and Social Security and Medicare tax on one worker's wages. State and local tax are not included, and a pre-tax 401(k) would lower income tax a little; enter your own take-home for an exact figure.
  • Amounts are in today's dollars: the 7.0% return is reduced by 3% inflation to 3.88%. Support is held level in today's money.
  • The rupee rate is ₹95.81 per dollar (Federal Reserve, 25 September 2026). Transfer fees and the provider's exchange margin are not included, and the rate will move.
  • The retirement chart saves everything that is not spent or sent, which is what the support is weighed against. A one-time amount is paid from your investments.
  • Gift rules: the 2026 US figures are $19,000 a recipient a year and $15,000,000 lifetime; gifts to a spouse, gift-splitting and earlier years' gifts are not modelled. The Indian rule is shown as published; check with a Chartered Accountant.
WORKED EXAMPLE · SAMPLE NUMBERS
Take-home is $145,000 less $23,534 of federal income tax and $11,093 of Social Security and Medicare tax, $110,374 a year or $9,198 a month. Less $5,000 of spending leaves $4,198; the goal takes $1,840, so the room is $2,358 a month, or ₹2,25,942 at ₹95.81 to the dollar. ₹50,000 ÷ 95.81 = $522 a month; over 312 months at 3.88% a year after inflation it grows to $277,807 in today's dollars.
Keep this number honest as your life changes.
Put it on your Money Map and it re-runs as you change the seven numbers. It stays in this browser, and the calculator stays free.
Open your Money MapTell me when bank sync opens

Questions about this result

Almost never. In 2026 you can give up to $19,000 to each person a year without filing anything. Above that you file Form 709, which counts the excess against a $15,000,000 lifetime amount; tax is only due once lifetime taxable gifts pass it.
The IRS sets it at $19,000 per recipient for 2026. It applies to each person separately, so money sent to a mother and a father is tested against $19,000 each. A parent is not a spouse, so the unlimited marital deduction does not apply.
Not if you pay the hospital or doctor directly: medical care paid straight to the provider is excluded from the gift tax and is not reported (section 2503(e) of the Internal Revenue Code). If you send the money to your parent to pay the bill, it counts toward the $19,000.
As published, no: the Income-tax Act, 2025 (in force from 1 April 2026) taxes gifts above ₹50,000 a year under section 92(2)(m), but section 92(3)(a) leaves out money from a relative, and a child is a relative (formerly section 56(2)(x)). Check with a Chartered Accountant.
Only if gifts from a nonresident alien individual, together with related people, total more than $100,000 in your tax year. Form 3520 is a report, not a tax: the gift itself is not income to you. Penalties apply for not filing it when it is due.
There is no single right amount. This page shows the most you can send while still meeting the savings goal you set, and what that support adds up to by your retirement, so you can choose with the trade-off in view.
THE LEDGER · 10 min5 Retirement Mistakes That Cost $100K+ (Part 3 of 3)
THE LEDGER · 28 min5 Retirement Mistakes That Cost $100K+ (Part 2 of 3)
GUIDE · $39The Retire-Early Playbook
YOUR MAP · 0 of 7 doneNext: FIRE CalculatorContinue →